Mir: the first Moto3™ champion without a pole position?

If he takes the title this weekend at the Twin Ring Motegi, he will be the first rider ever to become Moto3™  World Champion without achieving pole position in his winning year, and the first in the lightweight class since Angel Nieto in 1984, Loris Capirossi in 1990 and, most recently, Emilio Alzamora in 1999.