17 times the Championship went down to a #FinalShowdown

1992 – Mick Doohan (Honda) suffered severe injuries in a crash at Assen, by which time he had a 65 point lead over Wayne Rainey (Yamaha). When Doohan returned to compete at the final two races of the year, still far from fully fit, Rainey had reduced the lead considerably and when they arrived at Kyalami for the final race, Doohan was just two points ahead. In spite of Doohan’s heroic efforts to finish sixth, Rainey took third to win the title by four points.